As a working mom my least favorite phrase is “I don’t know how you do it”. To me no matter how you say it, it comes across with a very passive aggressive tone. Like before you even get to know me, you’re assuming I have to fail at something. I can’t possibly be an attentive and loving mom, involved in my kids schools, well educated, a competent employee, loving daughter and sister, involved in the community, cook dinner sometimes and (wink, wink) please my husband.
Supermom. We all know one. And hate them. I am supermom. Or at least I’ve been called that. But I don’t want that nickname. I don’t want it (insert tempertantrum here!).

Maybe I am crazy. Maybe I’m overcommitted. I have 2 kids, I’m married, a homeowner and I work full time. I can’t afford a cleaning service or a nanny. I drive a small sedan so carpooling to sports practice is not an option. I volunteer way too much. I have no time for reality TV (but that’s ok with me). I sign up for too many 5Ks and even ran a ½ marathon last year. I could stand to lose a few pounds, but overall my life is great. My life is full. I am blessed. I feel loved. Alone. But loved.
Spreading myself this thin, I find myself spacing out in evening board meetings thinking “wouldn’t this time be better spent reading and cuddling with my kids at home?” But I keep going, and keep volunteering; because who else will step up and volunteer?
I have very nice family and very nice friends that would help in a pinch – but I have to confess – I can’t ask for help. I am stubborn. (And that’s an understatement if you ask my husband.) I suffer in silence. I feel stressed out. Alone. Not good enough. But I’m a control freak. And so far I’ve managed to keep my head above water, so I continue on. And I silently nod when you say “I don’t know how you do it.” I don’t know either. And then I continue to NOT ask for help.
I mentally make a map of the weeks errands, work projects, homework, sporting events and activities, not because I’m trying to save gas or time, but because it’s like a crazy f’ed up puzzle that I can barely make work. I feel like I’m playing Jenga, but it’s not a game – it’s my life! And it’s only a matter of time until the tower falls.
I don’t really have any good friends that aren’t as busy as I am. I mean I have acquaintances, but no one I would tell what I’m telling you. I go to everything I’m invited to and always try new things. I plan a bunch of fun girls nights out, join moms groups, play bunco, stay after church and small talk with everyone. I started a parent-child book club. I help with every activity I can at school. I really try to keep in touch with everyone, but it seems to only be on a superficial level, a casual lunch, email, text, connection on linkedin and friending them on facebook.
We see other very nice people all the time. We get together for family parties. We get together with friends. We host parties. ALL THE TIME. And I don’t really have time to cook, clean, shop. But I don’t really get invited out that much. I hate hosting parties, like pit-in-my-stomach-can’t-sleep-the-few-nights-before-anxiety, but I like people. I need people. I see people at work, board meetings, volunteering, school events, neighbors, starbucks… But no one talks about anything substantial. No one ever talks about their hopes and dreams, wishes and fears, or anything about how they’re feeling! It’s all small talk: sports & weather, how are the kids? No one really ever asks how are YOU? And really waits (or has time) to hear the answer.
I can’t really blame my friends for being busy, they’re just doing their best just like I am. But I wonder, after all this effort, how is it possible to still feel alone? I even tried talking to MY mom, but everytime I call her she cuts me off right away and says “you sound busy, I’ll let you go”.
I am strong
I don’t need help (but I want help, gosh I’d love help! I think…)
I feel loved
I feel alone
And then I feel guilty because my “problems” are not real problems at all! I have it so great – 2 healthy, gorgeous, loving kids, a warm house with food on our table at every meal, a husband who loves and supports me, a great job, countless opportunities at my fingertips, a great education, a nice safe and friendly community to live in…. So I shouldn’t be so stressed out and lonely. I am smart, I should be able to “handle it.” I am Supermom! But I don’t want to be…. I can handle it. I can do it myself. But it’s so hard. So very, very, very hard.
Where’s that cape Supermom?
Today it’s hiding under my pjs and it’s going to stay there all day! While I cuddle with my kids and tell them how much I love them.
Unless of course you have time for dinner and a deep conversation, then I’m free!