new year’s resolutions

The new year brings a great opportunity to reflect on the past year and take those lessons with you.  I have spent a few hours today making a 2018 photo book of our families adventures, memories and counting my many blessings.

I appreciate spending time planning my short term and long term goals.  My #1 short term goal consists of applying and interviewing for a new job that has better work-life balance.  My current situation is completely unsustainable.  I am working unprecedented overtime, nights, weekends, holidays, vacation days, and it’s affecting my health (both mental and physical).  This is a must. And I hope it will help me achieve all my other short and long term goals.

I will keep doing what I am doing well.  Right now I think that is putting my family and friends first and making them a priority.  But I do have things to change. I have not made myself and my health a priority.  This year I am committed to becoming healthier.  I will make time for meditation, stretching, stress relief, running, walking, and especially changing my eating habits.

abstract art blur bokeh

Photo by freestocks.org on Pexels.com

Do you make resolutions? I do. Every year.  And I have to confess, the past decade or so, my resolution has been the same. And it doesn’t stick. I keep vowing to eat healthier, exercise more, and lose weight.

I know I’m not alone.

But I’m frustrated. I know it’s not easy. I need to put in the work. I need to make it a priority.

I was listening to Rachel Hollis’ podcast “Rise” and she had on Brendan Burchard and he succinctly described my problem in one sentence.  “You must be committed to your goals, not just interested in them.”

This year, I am committed, not just interested.

What is your resolution? Are you interested? Or committed?

Happy New Year!

I wish you, your family and your friends a healthy, happy and dream-committed 2019!

One thought on “new year’s resolutions

Leave a comment